Skip to content

Days of Alexandria

第一章

当他们在等那位高级委员会的特派顾问时,Elias Chouri希望说点什么:战争和商业是我们文明的两大支柱。我有时疑惑我们中有多少人不是因为这两点来到的这里。

这番言辞使Antonis Charamis从短暂的麻木中恢复过来。一分钟前,他正在疑惑Chouri是怎样设法在这样的会谈上找到他自己的。在这个神秘男人的活动范围里,既没有战争也没有商业。尽管如此,过去的两三年里,Antonis想不出任何没有绰号黎巴嫩人Elias Chouri参与调停而在埃及完成的大项目。Elias Chouri有着瘦长的身形,白皙的皮肤,以非常名贵的套装和优雅的帽子打扮自己,基本上每天都光顾Rue Cherif Pasha周边的商店,嗅出了这座城市浓厚的商业氛围。

在其中一个场所,Danielle酒吧(这里,据黎巴嫩人所说,可以喝到品质最好的正宗德国啤酒,比马尿好喝多了),Chouri安排了一次与英国政要的会谈,已经很少去酒吧的Antonis扫视着店里厚重的木镶板、镜子和墙上的灯龛。鉴于满屏的薄帘子都不能够抵挡住强烈的阳光,他倾向于相信黝黑的木板吸收了过多光柱,阻止了光线对角落和高高的天花板的照射。从他的位置,他很难看清房间后方那个木柜子后服务客人的那个男人的脸。他只能看到每次他用白布擦拭柜子时那个摇晃的圆鼓鼓的肚子。Antonis被他将三四门语言融进单调的西西里语口音中的方式逗乐了。

Chouri开始向他解说:那个叫Danielle的男人是这家酒吧的明星。他是一个演员,一种喜剧演员,他每天在柜子后表演。这是真的,这个柜子有着分散的灯光,有一个由挂在隐藏钩子上的啤酒杯组成的玻璃蓬盖,反射着舞台上的脚灯。

为谁表演?” Antonis脱口而出问道。

交易所一关闭,里面工作的人就来到这里。Danielle的一杯冰啤酒对这些可怜虫来说就像一枚镇痛软膏。你没看到整个早上他们在木台阶上怎样声嘶力竭地叫喊的吗?追逐着黑板上棉花价格的起落。股市交易需要强健的体魄,我的朋友,这是最重要的。他们的丝质衬衣都浸透了汗水。在他们之后,律师和银行家就进场了。这是他们的世界,我向你保证

AntonisElias也准备在众人面前表演。最后,他宁愿在没有任何声响的环境下,在一个安静的办公室里解决这个问题,远离众人的目光。Elias坚持要在这个吵闹的场合会谈一事和英国政要迟到一事一样都开始激怒他。黎巴嫩人察觉到了他的愤怒,当他试图以天快晴吧,我们是在等高级委员会派来的卓越顾问,不是第一个走过的路人来解释这件不能找借口的事时使他更加恼怒了。

这番话使得Antonis出离愤怒的边缘了,卓越哈?他愤怒地咆哮,我们正在等一个不知道守时的哈巴狗!不要再拨弄你口袋里的怀表了,你刺激到我了!

Elias惊骇地盯着他,赶紧关上怀表放进马甲口袋。Antonis果断地弹了弹西服的翻领,在胸前交叉着双手继续等待。

然而,让他发怒的真正理由有很多。他感觉Elias为了看喜剧表演利用了他。当他们俩走进酒吧时,EliasDanielle召唤过去。Danielle穿着白色衬衫,背带裤,戴着蝴蝶领结,弯着腰就像真的演员一样。Antonis确信这个高大的意大利人会高声宣扬他曾为烟草行业实业家Charami和那位被盼望着的高级委员会顾问表演。

这次会谈会实质性选定Antonis Charamis为英国军用雪茄的官方供应商,这使得他将成为在埃及最有钱的希腊人其中的手续会是律师们最关心的问题。要不是因为这事,Antonis不会被列入亚历山大港的富豪榜。自世纪初,知名的“Charami-埃及香烟包装,印有亚历山大港徽章克利奥帕特拉之针,在英国、德国、荷兰甚至遥远的瑞典和挪威都能发现。这位受人敬重的顾问,肯定已经被充分告且意识到,撇开其他事情不谈,Charami是埃及Sultan陛下和希腊国王Constantine的供应商。所以Antonis决定只好拿出Sarah Bernhardt五年前参观他在Moharram Bey的工厂时亲手赠送给他的照片,那时Sarah表示她对工厂的位置和基础设施印象深刻。这个故事在铁杆烟民中至今广为流传。在任何情况下,不管这事有名还是不有名,这都曾是黎巴嫩人和他见面初第一件问的事:

那张照片,我能看看吗?他请求看一看这张背后有亲笔赠言的著名歌手的照片。

Elias Chouri是一位来自黎巴嫩家庭的法国公民;他出生于黎巴嫩Beiru,并且是马龙派教徒。这些事情都能一定程度解释他精致的外表。他总是衣冠楚楚的是这座城市里的人们对他的第一印象。Antonis喜欢和不喜欢他的理由都是同一个。他没办法喜欢一个发出咯咯清脆笑声的男人,但是Elias的年轻才是他不喜欢他的正经理由,而他现在正要满50岁了。但是Antonis知道,正因为Elias不会获得他的完全信任,所以他至少可以部分相信他。每当他想要对着Elias的脸一番辱骂时,就像现在,他就意识到他需要Elias,他需要控制自己,但即使没有这种需要,他也不能对他面前的这个无辜男孩破口大骂。他总感觉这个黎巴嫩人在通过意念操控他,但实际上他才是那个利用Elias促成自身利益的人。

他对细节的痴迷让人恼火!但是当Antonis指出他外表上的两处凌乱时,他对他的观察力感到自豪。一如既往,Elias自然地拿出润发油使他那撮茂盛的头发服帖下来,并将银链悬挂在他背心外。虽然如此,但当你仔细看他的胡子时,你仍会发现有一些狂野的胡须从这里和那里冒出来,冲刷着他梅子色的上唇,使他不得不用下唇把他们抵上去。这类日常错误中,最不能原谅的是,他的夹克口袋里没有用来擦拭前额细汗的白色小手帕,他竟然用白色餐巾替代,一边反复叫着热,热!今天,作为五月的一天来说,是不同寻常的热。上周,没有下过一滴雨,对于亚历山大港来说是常事。

不同于EliasAntonis比往常早地醒来了,有远见地雇用了Kikinos前来服务,这位Cephalonian理发师在他打开他那位于 Soter地区, Shallalat花园背后的店铺大门之前,在黎明的时候,就带着他的工具箱去了Quartier Grec。幸运的是,他在Mohamed Ali广场上让一个亚美尼亚磨靴匠将他的鞋子打磨得亮锃锃的。

坐在Chouri对面,他盯着酒吧一面镜子中自己的脸,非常满意地看到理发师不仅修理了他的胡子,也修整了他的鬓角。同时,门铃响了,但是进来的不是他们要等的那个男人。一股细腻的香味灌满了他的鼻腔,他回过头去看。木门坎后出现了一位引人瞩目的戴着宽边沿帽的女人。Bolero上衣遮住了他的肩膀,打褶的裙子刚好到他的膝盖下,露出一双优美的小腿。当一位有点斗鸡眼的男孩注视她的帽子的时候,她站了一会儿。接着服务生Faouzi以夸张的手势引领她到邻桌就坐。她穿着高跟鞋以优雅的姿势在位置上坐了下来。她漫不经心地脱下她雪白的手套,并将它们折进了她的手提包里。接着她嗖嗖地扇起了她手中的扇子,吹动了她一头波浪形的头发。此时,Antonis以为她在对他笑,使他赶紧举了举他的酒杯以作回应。他被这位年轻女士的欧式派头深深吸引,使他除了心里赞叹多么美丽的女人啊之外没有了其他杂念。

她叫Yvette Santon注意到Antonis对她的兴趣后,Elias Chouri对他说到。瑞士和法国混血。她妈妈是瑞士人,爸爸是法国人,或者相反?接着他低声耳语道:他们说Phillppe Jacquot带她来到这里。事实上,她曾冒充他的合法妻子,尽管大家都知道Jacquot已经有一个妻子和孩子。Jacquot真是一个老恶棍,我的朋友。

Antonis非常了解Phillppe Jacquot:他是另一个Chouri,他过去5年在埃及做着见不得人的交易。他跟黎巴嫩人相比不相上下。至于他的所谓的女伴,Antonis觉得还是在另外的场合结识她比较好。暂时,他只能想象他们在Mareotis湖的岸边相拥,或者在开罗Shepheard酒店的套房内,离亚历山大港哪些爱窥探的眼光远远的。

英国政要的到来把Antonis拉回现实。一起来的还有一个红头发的雀斑男,比政要稍高,他自称是高级委员会东方大臣的特别顾问。他的出现似乎使黎巴嫩人感到不快,在胡子下嘀咕着什么。另一方面,Antonis认为像这样身份的人身边有人陪同是再正常不过的事,即使只是为了让人加深印象。在特别顾问的自我介绍后,Antonis不知道是否应该在称呼他时冠以什么称谓,他仅以Cosner先生称呼他。后者马上表现出了他对这个地区的问题的傲慢和无知。英国绅士的礼仪和英帝国主义的傲慢都在他身上呈现了出来。他有一对尖尖的耳朵,以一种滑稽的方式突出来,像一对犄角一样从他方形的脑袋上支出来。他的头发有一个模糊的纹路,他反复用手指拨弄试着使纹路更清晰。他刚坐到座位上,就开始咒骂亚历山大港和此地的春雨,将自己列为在开罗度过了美妙冬天的幸运者。他两天前刚从首都来到这里,这里唯一让他高兴的事是从政府宫殿的小山向下看能收获一番壮美的景观。亚历山大港的其它地方,作为一个单调乏味的省级城镇,娱乐场所有限这一点打击了他,与开罗相比,此地也没什么考古兴趣。显然地,他对此地的历史是无知的,甚至对他当代的发展也是一无所知。从他对Coptic首要大臣Boutros Ghali Pasha谋杀案一事的评论来看,Antonis断定Cosner根本不知道案发的具体时间和情况。而对于另一个男人,红头发男人,就很难断定了,因为他整个用餐过程中没有说过一句话。事实上,在最开始,当Cosner建议为了隐蔽起见改用法语交谈后,这位东方大臣的顾问就听不懂他们到底在谈论什么了。

但是这些都无关紧要,这只不过是为了结束交易,就如这位希腊烟草实业家猜想的一样,协议内容已经被密封在手上的文件里了。这次在Rue Cherif Pasha酒吧的会谈只是一场正式的工作午餐,旨在确定Chouri的佣金。Cosner先生最想做的是抽几支Charamis香烟,而不是他最喜欢的烟斗。当Antonis领会了表演的奥义之后,他都懒得把夹克内袋里的相机拿出来拍摄Sarah Bernhardt了。他觉得他有权休息一下了,他将自己更舒服地陷进座位里,全神贯注地享用Faouzi提供的美味。他看着他身边精美的装饰。幸运的是,黝黑地板的单调色调被Danielle的白衬衫,被Cosner的亚麻色胡须(就像Kikinos说的修整得像一把刷子),被金黄的啤酒,被Santon女士(他观察了好一阵子,正用她的小镜子补妆)优雅的存在打破了。如果他能相信Chouri的话,这个酒吧很快会挤满了人。那么,就等着股票经纪人们、律师们和银行家们吧,他自言自语道。他突然开始享受起在这个气味相投的地方的会谈了。他想,以后,严肃的交易和私人约会都可以放在类似这样的场合。但是人们可能会穿着更简单随意些。那儿可能也会有一个狡猾的牵线拉桥的Chouri,一个优雅的引人遐想的Yvette。想着这些,他再一次举起了他的酒杯致敬Jacquot的情妇,而她以热切的目光给以回应。稍后,他对着Faouzi耳语了一些可想见的内容,这位穿着绣有金色刺绣的绿色长袍的侍应生告诉这位女士,那位衣冠楚楚的,灰头发的,胡子整齐的绅士已经为她买单了。就目前情况来看,他轻浮的追求所带来的幸福结局,很快将成为他所有操作过的商业交易中最伟大的,而且他也没做什么特别的努力。

金黄色的啤酒在博客杯中闪闪发光,他们举起杯子,叮叮地碰杯。外面,在街上,可以看到这个疯狂的城市正在走向经济复兴。马车和稀少的汽车竞跑,其中混杂着一大群形形色色的各年纪的人,都将自己虔诚地奉献给钱财。酒吧的后门通向一个小巷子,在那里会有狡猾油腻的埃及人朝你挤眉弄眼。另一边的大门会把你径直带向欧洲,那里正展出优雅的欧洲流行服饰,在那里英语和法语是主流语言。从眼角余光,Antonis认出了他的一位希腊籍员工腋窝下夹着一沓文件正冲向Rue Cherif Pasha,他正心无旁骛地着手工作,这件事使他的雇主Antonis感到非常满意。

当一切都说了、做了,Antonis享受上了在这座城市的生活,这是一个将各种族、各语言、各信仰都融合进每天的狂欢盛宴的城市。他不能想象出还有另外一个地方能让冒险家Elias ChouriYvette Santon和他自己有更好的命运。据墙上的大钟显示,现在已经是下午一点半了。

不仅仅是战争和商贸把我们带到了这里,还有一次,Antonis找到了隐藏在Yvette身上的秘密。当他第一次进入她的身体,他完全忘记了卧室,不确定他是否真的在Elias Chouri那位于Roshdy的奢华公寓,在一个有着镶金床头柜的双人床上,和那个让他魂牵梦萦的女人缠绕在一起。稍后,她含糊的呻吟和鼓励的叫声用力啊,用力啊!,伴着他们有节奏的交合,使他重获感性的现实世界:她的乳房就像柠檬一样紧致,她卷曲的长头发吊在床头柜外,她耻骨的棱角刺痛着他的皮肤。

纵情欧洲

微信公众号

官方微博

豆瓣

下载第二届中欧国际文学节活动手册 下载

Skip to content

Days of Alexandria

Days of Alexandria

 

First Part

 

…as polite as guests

Lao Tzu

“War and commerce are the two pillars of our civilisation.  I sometimes wonder how many of us would be here without them”, observed Elias Chouri, wishing to say something as they waited for the Special Advisor of the High Commission.

This remark summoned Antonis Charamis from his momentary torpor.A minute earlier, he in his turn was wondering how Chouri had managed to find himself at such a meeting.  Neither war nor commerce featured among this mysterious man’sspectrum ofactivities.  Nonetheless, over the last two or three years, Antonis was unable to think of any great project that was accomplished in Egypt without the mediation of Elias Chouri, known by his sobriquet “The Lebanese”.  That lanky figure with its fair complexion, decked in extremely expensive suites and elegant hats, frequented the shops around the Rue Cherif Pasha on an almost daily basis, smelling out the commercial maelstrom of the city.

In one of these locales, the Danielle pub (where, according to “The Lebanese”, you could drink authentic German beer of the finest quality, rather than “horse piss”), he had arranged the meeting with the British dignitary, and Antonis, who rarely frequented pubs any more, allowed his eyes to wander around the room with its heavy wooden panelling, its mirrors, and its lamps nestling in the walls.  Since the flimsy curtains stretched along the whole façade did not seem enoughto stop thetorrentialsun, he was inclined to believe that the swarthy wood soaked upthe excess shafts of light,not allowing them to pour into the corners and spread to the lofty ceiling.  From his seat, he could barely make out the facial features of the man who was coordinating the service for the customers from the back of the room, behind a wooden counter. He only saw his bulging paunch wobble each time he wiped the counter with a white cloth, and Antonis was amused by the way in which he kneaded together three or four languages in his singsong Sicilian accent.

Chouri started explaining to him: “That man Danielle is the pub’s star attraction.  He’s il protagonista, a sort of comédien who gives a daily performance behind the counter”.It was true that the counter, with its discrete lighting and a glass canopy of giant beer mugs hanging from unseen hooks, recalled the footlights on a stage.

“For who?” asked Antonis impulsively.

“As soon as the Boursecloses, the “jobbers” arrive.An ice-cold beer in the Danielle is a balm for those poor sods.  Haven’t you seen how they shout themselves hoarse racing up and down their wooden steps all morning, chasing after the prices of cotton on blackboards?  The stock exchange requires tough guts, my friend, un point c’est tout.  Their silk shirts are soaked in sweat.  After them, the lawyers and bankers tumble in.  Y a du monde, je vous assure”.

Antonis reflected that Elias was also preparing to give his own performance in front of all these people.  In the end, he would have preferred to resolve this matter without any fanfare, in a quiet office, far from the eyes of the world, and Elias’ insistence on meeting in such a crowded place had begun to irritate him as much as the tardiness of the British dignitary.The Lebanese, who intuited this irritation, annoyed Antonis even more when he attempted to excuse the inexcusable by saying: “En tout cas, we’re waiting for His EminencetheAdvisor of the High Commission,not just the first passerby”.

This drove Antonis over the edge.“His Eminence, huh?” he growled angrily.  “We’re waiting for some lapdog who hasn’t learnt to be on time!  And stop fidgeting and fiddling with that damn watch in your pocket, because you’re getting on my nerves!”

Elias stared at him aghast, and hurried to stuff his watch into his waistcoat pocket.  Then Antonis flipped his lapels decisively and crossed his arms as he continued to wait.

However, the real reason for his anger lay elsewhere.He felt that he had allowed Elias to exploit him for the sake of theatrical display.  When the two of them entered the pub, Elias had beckoned to Danielle, who bowed like a true protagonista in his white shirt, suspenders, and bow tie. Antonis felt certain that the giant Italian would trumpet the fact that his establishment had hosted the tobacco industrialist Charamis and the Advisor of the High Commission, who was expected at any moment.

Their meeting would practically anoint Antonis Charamis as the official supplier of cigars to the British army, making him one of the wealthiest Egyptian Greeks – the formalities would be the lawyers’ concern.  Not that Antonis was not already counted among the Croesuses of Alexandria. Since the start of the century, the famous pack of “Charamis – CIGARETTES EGYPTIENNES”, stamped with Alexandria’s emblem, the Needles of Cleopatra, could also be found in England, in Germany, in Holland, and even as far afield as Sweden and Norway.  The Esteemed Advisor had surely been well informed, and would be aware that Charamis had been, amongst other things, the supplier to His Majesty the Sultan of Egypt, as well as to the Prince of Greece, Constantine. So Antonis only decided to bring the photograph that Sarah Bernhardt had dedicated to him with her own hand, when she had visited his factory in Moharram Bey five years ago and declared herself most profoundly impressionée by its location and infrastructure.This story was stillwell known among circles of diehard smokers.In any case, well known or not, it was one of the first things that the Lebanesse had asked him about as soon as they met:

Et la photo, tu l’as apportée?”  And he asked to see the photograph of the famous singer, with her dedication on the back.

Elias Chouri was a French citizen from a Lebanese family; he had been born in Beirut and belonged to the Maronite denomination.  These things explained to a certain extenthiswell-groomed appearance.  Il est toujours tiré à quatre épingles” was the first remark that people made about him in this city. Antonis liked him for exactly the same reasons that he disliked him.  He was incapable of not liking a man with such agurgling crystal laugh,but Elias’ youthfulness was a serious cause for dislike, now that hehad fortuitously made it to his fifties.  At least Antonis knew that he could partially trust him,precisely because Elias would never gain his complete trust. Whenever he wanted to fling an insult at his face, like right now, he would realize that he needed Elias and had to restrain himself,but even when this need was absent, he was unable to hurl abuse at[bad-mouth?]theinnocent boy in front of him.  He always had the impression that the Lebanese was manipulating him at will, though in reality hewas the one exploiting Elias to promote his own interests.

And thatobsession of his for little details was so irritating!  But when Antonis spotted two signs of sloppiness in Elias’ appearance, he felt victorious in his observations.  As always, Elias had naturally tamed his luxuriant tufts of hair with an abundance of brilliantine, and asmall silver chain dangled from his waistcoat.However, if you looked closely at his moustache, you would notice that some wild stray whiskers protruded here and there,brushing against his plum-coloured upper lip,and frequently obliging him to push themup with his lower lip.But most inexcusable for such a comme il faut Lebanese was the fact that his jacket pocket lacked the little white handkerchief with which he would wipe the small drops of sweat that formed on his forehead,and instead of which he was using his white serviette while stammering “Quelle chaleur!”Today, it was abnormally hot for the month of May.Last week,the rain had poured down nonstop, a common occurrence in Alexandria.

Unlike Elias, Antonis had woken up earlier than usual and had the foresight to hire the services of Kikinos, the Cephalonian barber, whohad carried his kit to the Quartier Grec at daybreak, before opening his shop in the Soter district, behind the Shallalat  Gardens. For good luck, he had entrusted the shining of his shoes to an Armenian boot polisher in Mohamed Ali Square.

Seated opposite Chouri, he gazed at his own face in one of the bar’s mirrors, deeplysatisfied to see that the barber had not only groomed his moustache, but also his sideburns.At that same moment, the doorbell rang, but it was not the man for whom they were waiting.An exquisite fragrance filled his nostrils, and he turned around to look.There emerged, from behind the doorway’s wooden partition, an impressive woman in a wide-brimmed hat.  A bolero concealed her shoulders, while her plaited dress reached just below her knees,revealing a pair of gorgeous calves.She stood still for an instant, while a little cross-eyed boy took care of her hat. Then Faouzi, the waiter, ushered her to the neighbouring tablewith an almost theatrical gesture. With ethereal motions, as though she were dancingon her high heels, she alighted on her seat.  She languidly sloughed her snow-white gloves, which she folded and slipped into her handbag.Then she spread her fan and fluffed out her wavy hair with an affected swish. That same moment, Antonis thought she was smiling at him, and he rushed to raise his glass in response.He was so impressed by the European panache of this young woman that he could not contemplate any thought except “Quelle belle femme!”

“Yvette Santon!” Elias Chouri informed him, noticing his interest.“Swiss-French.  With a Swiss mother and a French father… or was it a French mother and a Swiss father?”  And he went on in a whisper, “They say that Philippe Jacquot brought her here.  In fact, she onceposed as his lawful spouse, even though everyone knows that Jacquot already has a wife and children.  An old scoundrel, mon ami.”

Antonis Charamis knew Jacquot very well: he was another Chouri who had made shady deals in Egypt over the past five  years. He was neither better nor worse than the Lebanese.  As for his so-called lady companion, Antonis planned to become better acquainted with her on some other occasion.  For the time being, he could simply imagine herentwined in his embrace on the banks of Lake Mareotis, or in some suite of Shepheard’s Hotel in Cairo, far away from the prying eyes of Alexandrians.

The arrival of the British dignitary brought Antonis back to reality.  The former was not alone.  He was accompanied by a red-haired man with freckles on his face, slightly taller than him, who introduced himself as the Special Advisor to the Minister of the East at the High Commission.His presence seemed to displease the Lebanese, who muttered something under his breath.  Antonis, on the other hand, considered it perfectly natural that their man should be accompanied, even for no other reason than to impress.  He had no idea whether he should address the Advisor with some title or other, and so, after making introductions, he simply called him Mr. Cosner.The latter immediately gave the impression of beingboth arrogant and ignorant about the region’s problems.  He combined the politeness of the English gentleman with the pomposity of the British imperialist.  He had pointy ears that protruded in a comical way, poking up like hornsfrom his square-shaped head, and his hair had a faint parting, which he repeatedly tried to make more visible with his fingertips.He had barely settled himself down on his seatbefore he started raining curses on Alexandria and her spring showers, counting himself fortunate to have spent a fantastic winter in Cairo.He had just arrived from the capital two days ago, and the only thing that pleased him here was the splendid view from the small hillof the Governmental Palace.  The rest ofAlexandria struck him as a dull provincial townwithlimited venues for recreation, and little of archaeological interest compared to Cairo.  Clearly, he was completely ignorant about the place’s history, and even more clueless aboutcontemporary developments.  Judging from some comment he made about the murdered Coptic Prime Minister, Boutros Ghali Pasha, Antonis concluded that Cosner had no idea about the exact time or circumstances of the murder.  As for the other man, the redhead, it was debatable whether he had uttered a single wordduring the entire meal.In fact, from the beginning, when Cosner had suggested for some obscure reason that they should speak in French,the Advisor to the Minister of the East must have failed to understandwhat exactly they were discussing.

But none of this mattered.  It only remained toclose the deal, which, exactly as the Greek tobacco industrialist suspected, had already been sealed beforehand.This meeting in a pub on the Rue Cherif Pasha was merely a formal working lunch whose main purpose served to ensure Elias Chouri’s commission. All Mr Cosner wanted was to smoke some Charamis cigars, instead of his favourite pipe. Once Antonis had grasped the state of play, he could not even be bothered to take the photograph of Sarah Bernhardt from his jacket’s inside pocket.Feeling that he had earned the right to relax,he leaned back a bit more comfortably in his seat, putting all his soul into enjoying the delicacies served by Faouzi. He looked at the finely crafted décor around him.  Fortunately, the monotonous tone of the swarthy wood was broken by Danielle’s white shirt, by Cosner’s flaxen moustache, trimmed “à la brosse” as Kikinos would say, by the blonde beer, and by the refined presence of Mademoiselle Santon, whom he had seenfor a split second, applying makeup with the help of her pocket mirror.If he could trust Chouri’s words, the pub would soon be bursting with people.  “Well, just waiting for the stockbrokers, the lawyers, and the bankers”, he said to himself.He suddenly began to enjoy the prospectof meeting these people in such a congenial atmosphere.In the future, he thought, both professional transactions and private flirtations will happen in places like this.But perhaps people would dress themselves more simply.There would always be a crafty Chouri pulling strings, and an exquisite Yvette to tempt his imagination.With all this in mind, he raised his glass again and saluted Jacquot’s mistress, who responded with an eager look.A minute earlier, he had whispered something predictable in Faouzi’s ear, and the waiter, clad in his green and gold-embroidered caftan, informed the Mademoisellethat the dapper gentlemanwithgrey hair and well-groomed moustache had taken care of her bill.  As things stood, the happy outcome of his flirtatious pursuit would soon crown the greatest commercial deal that he had ever sealed, and with no particular effort on his part.

The blonde beer sparkled in the glass bocks that they raised and clinked.Outside, in the street, the frantic city could be seen racing towards economic renewal. Calèches competed with the rare automobiles, and among them mingled a swarm of people of all stripes and ages, piously sacrificingto Mammon.The backdoor of the pub led to an alleyway where Egypt and her natives winked at you with sly and crafty looks.The main door, on the other hand, led you straight to Europe, where the gracefulness of European fashions was put on display, where English and French were the dominant languages.  From the corner of his eye, Antonis spotted one of his Greek employees rushing up the Rue Cherif Pasha with a bundle of paperunder his arm.He was apparently heading to work without any distractions, and this filled his employer with deep satisfaction.

When all was said and done, Antonis enjoyed life in this city, where a harmonious symphony of races, languages, and creeds resoundedin a daily carnival.  He could not imagine any other place where adventurers like Elias Chouri, Yvette Santon, and he himself mightmeet a better fate.According to the big clock on the wall, the time was half past one.

It was not merely war and commerce that brought us here, thought Antonis, once he had found his way to thehidden mysteries of Yvette’s body.When he first penetrated her flesh, he completely forgotabout the bedroom and felt uncertain whether he was really inside Elias Chouri’s sumptuous apartment in Roshdy, on a double bed with gold-plated headboard, entwined with a woman who had intoxicated his imagination.Later, her muffled moans, along with the encouraging cries of “poussez, poussez!” that accompanied their rhythmic coupling, helped him to regain the sensual outlines of reality:her breasts as firm as lemons, her curly hair whose long waves werelost behind the bed’s headboard,her pubic triangle that prickled his skin. 

Experience Europe

Wechat Account

Weibo Account

Douban Account

Get the program DOWNLOAD PDF